Working together for our children
School Board

About Board Meetings
Annual Agenda
Board Briefs
Board Members
Board News
Board President Message
Dashboard Reports
Governance Compact
Guiding Principles
Meeting Agenda and Minutes

Recent School Board News
November 2013 – School Board President receives Thomas Lay Burroughs Award
May 2013 – Four Sworn in to District 62 Board of Education
August 2012 – Board of Education Issues Safety Statement

Board of Education
Schedule of Regular Meetings

May 2015 through April 2016

Download Printed Version

  • Monday, May 18
  • Monday, June 15
  • Monday, July 20
  • Monday, August 17
  • Monday, September 21
  • Monday, October 19
  • Monday, November 16
  • Monday, December 14

  • Tuesday, January 19
  • Tuesday, February 16
  • Monday, March 21
  • Monday, April 18

Unless notified to the contrary, all meetings will be held at 7:00 p.m. in the Boardroom at Forest Elementary School, 1375 Fifth Avenue, Des Plaines, IL 60016


Board of Education

From left, Beth Morley, Sharon Lynch, Stephanie Duckmann, Superintendent Dr. Jane L. Westerhold and Dr. Terry Lindsay participate in the Board of Education’s reorganization meeting in May.

District 62 Board of Education Reorganizes – The District 62 Board of Education elected the two most senior members to the top officer positions at a recent reorganization meeting. Longtime board member Stephanie Duckmann was elected board president and Sharon Lynch was voted vice president. They both have been serving on the board since 2004.

Duckmann had served as vice president of the board under Brenda Murphy since 2005. Murphy did not seek re-election after serving on the board since 1999.

Newcomer Beth Morley, was sworn in for a four-year term, along with returning members Dr. Terry Lindsay and Sharon Lynch at the May 4 meeting. This is Dr. Lindsay’s second four-year term.

President Duckmann appointed Board Liaisons as part of the reorganization:

  • Building – Dr. Terry Lindsay
  • Community Relations – Beth Morley
  • Education – Ronald Burton
  • Finance - James Poskozim
  • Personnel – Sharon Lynch
  • Policy – Raymond Imig

Board members will serve as representatives to the following committees:

  • IASB North Cook – Beth Morley
  • IASB Legislative Delegate – Ronald Burton
  • ED-RED - James Poskozim
  • ED-RED Alternate – Dr. Terry Lindsay
  • District Instructional Improvement Council – Stephanie Duckmann
  • D62 Foundation – Sharon Lynch

Meetings will be held at 7 p.m. on the third Monday of the month. Due to holiday conflicts, the board will meet December 14, 2015, January 19, 2016 and February 16, 2016. Board meetings are held in the Forest Elementary School Board Room, 1375 South Fifth Avenue, Des Plaines.

About the Board of Education
The Board of Education is composed of seven members elected to alternating four-year terms. Elections are held every two years. Board members are not paid and donate their time to serve the community. The Board chooses its officers in April. If a vacancy occurs, the Board names an appointee to serve until the next election.

To prepare children for the 21st century, we hold these beliefs

  • Working Together For Our Children: The best education of our children is the collaborative responsibility of students, their families, the school system and the community.
  • Learner Profile: We strive to produce students who are responsible citizens in our American democracy and in the global society at large, and who are knowledgeable in life skills that will serve them in the workplace and in their other adult roles.

Board of Education Goals /July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2016

Goal 1 – Every student, every day, will be provided challenging, interesting, satisfying, and engaging academic work that will lead to academic growth and achievement, and preparation for success in high school, career, college, and life.

Goal 2 – Every school will offer safe, caring, healthy, and secure learning environments for all students.

Goal 3 – All administrators, teachers, and staff will possess the skills to lead, teach, assess, and support students for success in the 21st Century and beyond.

Goal 4 – District financial resources will be efficiently and effectively used to support the mission of the district.

Board of Education

Stephanie Duckmann, President
Sharon Lynch, Vice President
Ronald Burton, Member
Raymond Imig, Member
Dr. Terry Lindsay, Member
Beth Morley, Member
James Poskozim, Member

Margaret Goodchild,
Secretary to the Board of Education

In accordance with Public Act 98-0930, you may contact Board of Education members directly via email

BOARD OF EDUCATION GOALS /July 1, 2013 – June 30, 2016

Section 10-16a of the School Code requires that school board members elected or appointed to their seat after June 13, 2011 must complete within the first year of their term a minimum of four hours of professional development leadership training covering topics in education and labor law, financial oversight and accountability, and fiduciary responsibilities of a board member. The link below details training activities completed by our Board of Education.

Board of Education Training Record

For meeting times and dates, please call the Leon Smaage Administration Center at 847-824-1136

Bookmark and Share


Safe Search the Web
Contact District 62
Directions to Administration Center

Leon Smaage
Administration Center

777 East Algonquin Road
Des Plaines, IL 60016-6281