Iroquois Community School


About Us
Parents & Community

District 62 Home

School Report Card -
Learn more...

2015 Phys Ed Award Photo

Dr. Michael Amadei and Anne Berenak display a Blue Ribbon School banner that will grace the walls of the ICS gymnasium. The banner was a part of the winners’ package from the IAHPERD.

Iroquois Teachers Recognized for PE Blue Ribbon School Program

Anne Berenak, William Snyder, and Dr. Michael Amadei, Iroquois Community School (ICS), were recently honored by the Illinois Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (IAHPERD).

ICS was one of five schools awarded a Physical Education Blue Ribbon School Award. Physical Education teachers have evaluative criteria available to use in developing quality programs. The criteria reflects the standards established by the physical education profession and the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE). Areas of focus include curriculum, instruction, enrichment, facilities, equipment, finance, administration, medical, and safety.

ICS’ curriculum is fitness-based and allows flexibility to incorporate developmentally appropriate activities. ICS is fortunate to have a new gym floor, a new traverse climbing wall, and new glass backboards. Facilities accommodate the curricular needs to ensure effective teaching. Berenak and Snyder are National Board Certified Teachers in Physical Education. They regularly attend conferences, workshops, and meetings to improve instruction. Collaboration is a key component of the program.

The 2015 Illinois Education Association Bob Haisman Teacher of the Year

> Watch on iPad    (Time 00:02:10)
Audiovisual: Dan Chianelli, and Pablo Sands

Food Pantry

Iroquois Student Uses Desire for Black Belt to Assist Food Pantry – When Samantha (Sam) Bahena, an Iroquois Community School student, needed to organize a community project to earn a black belt, she organized a food drive for the Des Plaines Food Pantry. Sam created, printed, and distributed flyers to other students at the martial arts studio. In two weeks, she collected enough food and clothing to fill the back of an SUV. Congratulations Sam for modeling how a community ambassador helps others.

Iroquois Community School - Facebook Iroquois Community School - Twitter D62 News Clips

Office Hours
Mon and Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Tues – Thurs: 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Absentee calls (847) 824-1308

Classroom Instruction Hours
Mondays: 8:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Tues – Fri: 8:00 a.m. - 2:45 p.m.
(Mondays early dismissal 2:30 p.m.)

The mission of the Des Plaines Community Education System is to equip our students with the skills necessary for their success as responsible citizens, productive workers, and lifelong learners by providing the best possible educational climate, curriculum, resources, and staff.

For 2016-17 School Year

District 62 uses Blackboard Connect 5 to notify parents, staff, vendors, and the Board of Education of emergency and weather related school closings, cancellations, late starts, and general announcements. Learn more...

Bookmark and Share


Safe Search the Web
Contact District 62
Directions to Iroquois School

Iroquois Community School
1836 Touhy Avenue
Des Plaines, IL 60018
847-824-1310 Fax

corner corner